Coding: Deactivating ligatures in the superscript feature

Hello Typedrawers,
this is my first post, so beforehand I want to thank you all for the tremendous amount of information that can be found here.

I'm a graphic designer and over the last months I developed a script typeface. My approach was quite straightforward, I didn't want the typeface to be overly realistic and complex, all I wanted was to eliminate basic redundancies. I chose to replace letters A-Z and figures 0-9 with custom ligatures via the "liga" feature, in case they were repeated right next to each other. So if "99" is typed, it gets replaced by "99 ligature".

Everything works to my liking, but after adding superscript figures I ran into this problem: As the "liga" feature replaces double figures (eg "99" with the "99 ligature"), these figures are not affected when activating the "sups" feature. Of course the "liga" feature could be turned off manually in the layout program, but that doesn't feel like a professional solution.

Being absolutely no coding-guy, I tried to break the ligatures apart in the "sups" code before exchanging them with the superscript figures like this:

feature sups {<br>sub nine_nine by nine nine;<br>sub @figures by @figuresSuperscript;<br>} sups;

This works in the Fontlab preview, but not in Indesign.

So what I want is: When the "sups" feature gets activated, all figure-ligatures should be eliminated and replaced by the superscript figures (nine_nine -> ninesuperior ninesuperior), without having to turn off the "liga" feature.

What would be a nice way to achieve this? Thanks!

Comments

• I love it when solutions are that simple. Thanks a lot, @Robin Mientjes, the magic works.
  • On why your code

feature sups {<br>sub nine_nine by nine nine;<br>sub @figures by @figuresSuperscript;<br>} sups;