Help with LTSH and VDMX tables.

Sorry to bother, but I was wondering if anyone could help. I'm relatively new to type design, I've only been at for like 8 months and self taught, there's much I don't know. I thought I had finally finished my first font, but some issues were found (please look below). I have no idea what that is or how to fix it. I also couldn't find anything about LTSH and VDMX tables in Fontlab, I might not have looked hard enough though. Any help would be appreciated.

• in the LTSH table many (almost all) values are incorrect, some seem to be really massively off (https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/typography/opentype/spec/ltsh)
• in the VDMX table many (seemingly all) values are larger by one unit than needed (https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/typography/opentype/spec/vdmx). This may be responsible for the error report regarding vertical metrics.
Tagged:

Comments

• how did you make this font? is it a TrueType font generated from FontLab? its possible you don't need these tables at all. how were the issues with the tables found?
  • John HudsonJohn Hudson Posts: 2,955
    Which version of FontLab?
  • Which version of FontLab?
    Fontlab Studio 5
  • how did you make this font? is it a TrueType font generated from FontLab? its possible you don't need these tables at all. how were the issues with the tables found?
    The font was generated in Fontlab Studio 5 as a TrueType font. The issues with the tables was found when I tried to submit the font to MyFonts. Their validator kept detecting vertical clipping even though all the Ascenders/Descenders (OS/2, hhea) seemed to be good. I contacted their support and they too were able to replicate the issue. They passed it along to a developer. The developer said that the LTSH and VDMX tables "may be responsible for the error report regarding vertical metrics."
  • how is the font hinted?