Clark — Type Critique

Kyle Wayne BensonKyle Wayne Benson Posts: 14
edited April 2013 in Type Design Critiques
I designed Clark in 2011 because I was looking for a more humanist approach to condensed, modernist, titling type that I kept running into. The more time I've spent revising it, the more modernist it has become. Realistically, the only humanist thing about it was its flaws. I initially wanted it to be used for titling and in display applications, but I'm open to it being used for text. Currently it has five weights.

This is my first time posting, though I've spent a good amount of time reading. I'm hoping to good some good, honest help before I continue into the italics. I'm a graphic designer turned type designer hobbyest — so I'm prepared for the critique of my life. If this face gets you ranting and you want to continue critiquing there's plenty available over at my site: fonts.kylewaynebenson.com/

Character Inventory:
Clark Thin Character Inventory

Comments

• Hallo!
    I designed & published a type called Clark in 2011… http://www.myfonts.com/fonts/typemade/clark/

Your looks nice, but I'll rework the /s/ /a/ & /e/
  • Craig EliasonCraig Eliason Posts: 1,397
    The uppercase and lowercase look like two different fonts. The lowercase I wouldn't describe as humanist nor modernist but really kind of techno.
    There are big weight imbalance problems particularly with the capitals with diagonals.
    I would start by reworking the /a/ -- it seems like figuring that out will help you figure out what this typeface is all about, but right now it's pretty unappealing.
  • James PuckettJames Puckett Posts: 1,969
    edited April 2013