Thick Display

Hey all,

I'm an industrial designer turned graphic designer, now experimenting with type design. 🙃

This a first attempt at a thick, display sans serif (hopefully with some character). So far it's only uppercase, figures, and punctuation which has been roughly spaced but not kerned. 

Overall, I'm interested to know if this direction is worth continuing to work on or if I should call it a learning exercise and try something else. Of course, any and all feedback on curve quality, proportions, and general design are appreciated!

Thanks!
(image below and PDF attached)

Comments

• Jacob CasalJacob Casal Posts: 99
    My, what an interesting /G! However, when I look at the open counters of your other characters like /3, /5, /6, and /9, even /@, which have strokes that make the counters appear as continuous “closed” shapes, it seems that the /G (and /C to a smaller degree) are a bit too offset and their counters “broken” instead of “closed” in my eyes. That curved spur of the /G already has a connection with the tail of the /Q, and I think this would possibly strengthen that bond as well.
  • Ray LarabieRay Larabie Posts: 1,376
    edited May 2019
    I think everyone should start with a heavy all-caps display typeface. I think the gaps in the S569 should feel more related. I know a fat S is a struggle but those gaps needs a little more air.

You've established a pinch on 569... how narrow the stroke is pinched at the intersections. But then on the G, there's a different technique.

Considering how broad and tough the letters look, the W feels a bit wimpy. Maybe give it a slightly more squarish shape. V feels lighter than the A.