I know how to start. But I don't know when to finish.

Andrew WoodAndrew Wood Posts: 42
edited April 2019 in Technique and Theory
Designing a typeface seems, to me, to involve dozens of big decisions, and thousands, perhaps tens of thousands, of small iterative changes.

How do you know when you have finished your typeface? 

Comments

• I think there are two important elements: one would be to set a goal, and to strive by any means not to stray away from it.
    And then I believe that the typeface should be tested, also in intermediate stages if needed, in an actual application, to see how it works, and if it works well and satisfies at least the essential premises of the initial goal.
  • I've been making fonts for over twenty years and I still haven't finished any.
    Coincidentally, earlier today we tweeted:
    ‘At https://www.dtl.nl beta versions of DTL Fell fonts can be tested on screen. As one will notice, there are a few rendering issues and the kerning is incomplete still. However, we think that after a development that took more than 20 years, it is going to be a wonderful typeface!’

• Rob BarbaRob Barba Posts: 86
    Personally, I tend to subscribe to Da Vinci's Maxim (or the George Lucas' Principle of Abandonment if you use the modern term):

Basically, to quote the linked article:
    You can always go back and touch up a painting. You can always rewrite a lyric or melody. You can always edit a book or blog post. Art is never done. It is never complete. It can always be refined.

And that is most certainly true.  Like with my non-font artwork, I'm always tweaking, improving.  For my fonts, it's adding a requested glyph, working on the glyphs themselves, or something.  There will always be something that needs to be tinkered with.