Old-style (minuscule) zero in Black weight serif

Hello everybody. I'm designing a contemporary, Elzevier-inspired serif typeface and now I've come to a rather interesting point—old-style figures. Normally you'd expect a stressless zero that's almost monolinear, but that it relevant for the basic "Regular-Bold-Italic-Bold Italic" model. I have a Light and a Black master—that's a kind of a problem, because in black, such monolinear stressless zero is too light and too out of style. I suppose that I could use other solutions for old-style zero such as bottom point raised above the baseline and/or reversed stress. What do you think?

Comments

• can you show us a sample?

• Well, the contours are yet nowhere near to the final release quality, but for now I need at least to elaborate the ideas of the glyphs. 

• your e, o, s, (a?) are too small, and so are the figures. Due to the experience of many, os figures (as well as small capitals) are good when slighly larger than lc x-height. The direction of your zero-design seems viable to me.
  • Maybe it's a side-effect of the overshoot suppression kicking in at a surprisingly high ppem size, but it seems like you have no (or not enough) overshoot of your round shapes, both at the baseline and the x-height.

That makes it harder to judge things like the size/effectiveness of the oldstyle zero, although the design direction seems viable.
  • edited February 2018
    The monoline zero is almost never a good idea, in any style. Historicism is for historians, not designers.

My own preferred form of the OS zero is where the left side is thick while the rest is thin. Example: http://www.identifont.com/samples/berthold/Whittingham.gif
  • Maybe it's a side-effect of the overshoot suppression kicking in at a surprisingly high ppem size, but it seems like you have no (or not enough) overshoot of your round shapes, both at the baseline and the x-height.