Will this work for Greek?

Hello everybody,

My name is Ebern and I have been working on my first solo type project for quite a while now. It is still a work in progress but I feel I’ve come to a point where I need some feedback.

‘Neutor’ (working title) is a font family that contains Latin and Cyrillic but also a Greek character set. I have some experience with type design but I have very little experience with Greek - though i’ve been studying hard :-) - so I would like to get some feedback from native Greek type people on my design. 

[The same goes for Cyrillic, but I have posted that in a separate thread.]

It is my aim to make a very functional but rather minimal typeface without sacrificing legibility, readability or personality. The result is monolinear, rounded, and somewhere in the middle between a Sans, a Slab and a Serif.

On the one hand I have tried to reduce every glyph shape to it’s minimum without being overly simplistic. On the other hand I’ve tried to give every glyph the shape that it needs to function well within context, in any situation, which means I have sometimes deviated from what is standard or traditionally accepted. 

When researching the Greek alphabet I didn’t always find it easy to determine the exact basic ground shape for some glyphs, which led me to make my own interpretations with the risk of getting it wrong. Again, I’ve tried to keep glyph shapes as simple as possible but without being too simple.

I am reasonably happy with the result so far but I am biased of course, so please Greek type people, give me your opinion. Is this a valid design for general purpose Greek use or did I interpret wrongly?

Thank you for your feedback.

Ebern Klause

Comments

• Hello Ebern. I think overall the Greek characters are correct in terms of shape and flow. Just a few minor notes: