Sharp Slab (working title)

Eris AlarEris Alar Posts: 420
edited June 2012 in Type Design Critiques
Hi, I'm new to drawing letters, and this reflects that, but I'm hoping that some of you will be able to help me learn the art and craft of type design. Any feedback/help welcome.

Comments

• Nick ShinnNick Shinn Posts: 2,131
    That’s a good start.
    Before you do any more work on this weight, I would move on to Extra Bold.
    The reason is, family themes/vocabulary have to be consistent.
    If you can make them work in Extra Bold, you’ve cracked it.
    Ultra doesn’t have to play by the same rules, though.
    At the other end of the scale, hairline is easy—just draw a path and apply a stroke (the overshoots do generally require some special thought, but not apparently in this face).
  • Eris AlarEris Alar Posts: 420
    Thanks Nick. I will trial an Extra Bold, and see how I go.
  • James PuckettJames Puckett Posts: 1,969
    The X heigh feels short for a slab. If you jump to extra bold, you’ll probably need to lift up the x-height in both weights to at least 72%.
    Yeah, I was wondering that too. Although I think I;m gonna leave the lowercase for a bit and try to get the upper working better.
  • Is this the same typeface I've seen in your instagram (or twitter or somewhere....) pictures? If it is, I'd suggest looking into some hinting basics such as setting stem widths and alignment zones as the image really doesn't do justice to your work.
    Yes it is. I believe Glyphs Mini applies an auto hint when it exports the font file. Also, click on the above image to see the very large original (over 6000px from memory).
  • Craig EliasonCraig Eliason Posts: 1,397