Organization

Hey Gang! This may be an odd question but is something I think about from time to time. Does anybody have an organization system they use or love to manage all the different fonts/images/etc that all the different distributors require? I feel like I have a folder for each distributor rather each font and it gets overwhelming. Always thinking of the most efficient way to structure this sort of thing and it felt like a Type Business question.

Comments

• Paul MillerPaul Miller Posts: 273
    I use 'Main Type' by High Logic to organise my fonts.  You can set up whatever arbitrary categories you like.
  • Mark SimonsonMark Simonson Posts: 1,652
    I keep each font/font family in its own folder.

Within that folder, I have a folder for banners and other images needed by distributors and for my own site. I have a master Adobe Illustrator file that contains all the different sizes needed. I export required images into separate folders for each distributor.

I have another folder that contains specimens and user guides, both the source documents and PDFs for distribution.

I also make a folder for each new version of the font/font family containing the source documents, finished fonts, and anything else related to that version.

There are a few other folders for keeping information or documents relating the the font/font family as a whole.

I have a completely separate folder in which I put copies of the latest version of each font, organized by family and also by package (some distributors require preassembled sets). Whenever I need to send font data to a distributor, it comes from this folder.

I'm not sure if this is the best system, but I've developed it gradually over a couple of decades and it seems to work for me. I continue to tweak it. It was much less organized even ten years ago.
  • Chris DChris D Posts: 76
    edited June 2017