My first typeface: Darec

Hello guys, can you please review my typeface?? I have no professional background in graphic design and this is my first (and might be last) typeface. In a moment of vision, I had this idea when I was designing a custom resume for a marketing position at a branding agency (which I didn't get :neutral: ).
I know I have to adjust overshoots in some places, but what do you guys think of it overall?

Comments

• strange, but promising.

the 3 ought to have a shortened middle stroke.
    the Z is weird.
    the & is quite nice.
  • Ofir ShavitOfir Shavit Posts: 396
    Hi,

I think it is a nice first font as an exercise, even though it might be too much of a challenge to achieve a good result in first attempt, since the simplest is often the hardest.

Looking at a typeface we examine the appeal and harmony of the text (rather than focusing on the shapes of the letters). At the moment it feels to me that there are too many forces pulling the letters to different directions in a way that make it seems unstable and randomly disordered.

The thing that disturbs my eyes most are the top flattened letters (e,g,p,q,P,R).
    Z's crossbar is not needed, S,s seems too wide.
    I love the G,X,U,V,@,&.
    The digits needs some more work.

It is clear that you lack some fundamental type design knowledge.
    Besides overshooting you have to apply more optical corrections to your typeface such as thinning a bit the horizontal lines, easing the weight of joints and reducing the size of the top parts in some characters (most noticeable at the 8, but applies as well to the B,K,R,S,X,a,s,x,z,2,3,5,8) and some more.
    These are subtle corrections but it will improve your typeface significantly.

I made 4 short videos about these issues with Fontark that might help.

• Hi,

I think it is a nice first font as an exercise, even though it might be too much of a challenge to achieve a good result in first attempt, since the simplest is often the hardest.