Scripts needed?

Hey guys!

I'm thinking on returning to typography once again (it must be the third time). I've been concentrating myself in code essentially for the past years and I think I will continue with it but every time I come around my type books, my "still to finish" work or whenever I receive some money from MyFonts on one of the fonts I have that I wouldn't use I think: "Should I get back?"

So, as somewhat a transition, "what if I started by doing some scripts that would help me and other developers?"
I'm a pretty good developer so I don't think this would be that hard.

Are you finding a lack in that subject? Something you would like to see done?

Comments

• Hey Joel, Robofont needs a simple and straight forward extension for building accents. Interested?
  • Jens KutilekJens Kutilek Posts: 338
    @Hannes Famira I don’t know if it counts as simple and straight forward, but my AnchorOverlayTool for RoboFont contains some helpers for accent letters. Especially the Recompose function: It sets the width of the accented glyph to that of the base glyph and positions the accent components based on the anchor positions. It doesn’t know which accent goes on which letter, but if you have the accented letters built in one UFO, you can copy them over to any font and use the Recompose script to correct the widths and positions.
  • Joel SantosJoel Santos Posts: 27
    It seems like you already have a solution ehehe.

To be straight, I also don't think RoboFont is that interesting. There is Glyphs, being in Python should be cross platform and... I don't find the appeal, specially with the price in  mind. Sorry.
    What about a simple app to test fonts with templates like "headings" and "simulated book page"...? Would that be useful?
  • Mark SimonsonMark Simonson Posts: 1,652