New post in the series, A Graphical Guide To VTT 6.10 Light Latin Autohinting

Just in case this gets lost at the end of the other longer thread on VTT 6.10. I have started a series of blog posts.

The latest is here
https://blogs.msdn.microsoft.com/fontblog/2016/04/08/a-graphical-guide-to-vtt-6-10-light-latin-autohinting/

mike

Comments

• Mike DugganMike Duggan Posts: 237
    if anyone has any suggestions, about what they would like to see covered in the posts, let me know. The next post is going to cover editing the Autohinter output.

thanks

mike
  • Wei HuangWei Huang Posts: 97
    edited April 2016
    @Mike Duggan 
    Thank you for your posts so far, I've never used VTT before and am about to for the first time, previously I had used ttfautohint with the control files, a tedious process that involved opening FontForge, enabling grid fit to read each point number and then a process of trial and error of shifting points up and down with a control file to see when it worked. I would appreciate some more details about common problems — I still encountered the following problems in TTFA:
    • dark and light strokes (edit: including on the same glyph but over different sizes, i.e. mid stroke of 's' too light in one size range, too dark in another)
    • dark joins
    • inconsistent heights within groups of glyphs that should be the same (eg. superior numerals at different height, quote marks at different height)
    • inconsistent height across weights
    • components glyphs being hinted differently
    And I'd also appreciate detail on different rendering modes, settings, and perhaps about smooth and strong stem mode in VTT. I'm sure more is possible in VTT than TTFA but otherwise I don't know about it then.
    hi Wei, thanks. Many if not all of the problems you mention can be handled in VTT. I will try and cover these issues in the next post.
  • if anyone has any suggestions, about what they would like to see covered in the posts, let me know.