Logotype for a rock band

Hi there!
I am opening this topic to ask for your advice. Full disclosure: I am a complete amateur, I hardly know any theory or terminology. Yet, I though I might design a logotype for my band, Sonorous Regalia.
I have to warn you, that it might be the cringeworthiest thing you've seen on this forum. Without further ado, here it is:
https://drive.google.com/open?id=0B9BhtlwviuCcMWJtb3c1S21Oa0U
It might be difficult to decipher, yet I somewhat like the fact that it resembles some exotic glyphs. It shows some potential when the letters are embossed:
https://drive.google.com/open?id=0B9BhtlwviuCceUg2SlZoUGU2TFE
Alright, I don't expect praises. I am prepared for crushing (but hopefully constructive) criticism.
Best Regards,
Chris

Comments

• Ray LarabieRay Larabie Posts: 1,376
    Band logos are special. Some of the best ones were designed by the bands themselves. I think the best band logos are easy for fans to carve into their school desks or scrawl on lined paper with a bell point pen. AC/DC, Skrillex, Metallica, Def Leppard, Led Zeppelin, Van Halen, Korn, NIN, Megadeth, Kiss, Iron Maiden, Blitzen Trapper. They're easily reproduced and compact. They contain memorable, interesting letterforms. They're compact...not a lot of white space.

Maybe lose the fancy curves and use straight lines. Keep sketching it on paper to figure out the geometry of it. Tighten it up... make it compact and less delicate. Draw it over and over and find a way to make it all fit together. Then you can draw it in a computer. Forget the embossing, just make it look good in black for now. The S idea can work but you need something extra to let people know that this is not supposed to be an E. The way it is now, it reads as E. Then you look back and see...oh yeah, I guess that's supposed to be an S.