Barlow - A headline grotesk for the EFF

jeremy tribbyjeremy tribby Posts: 212
edited October 2016 in Type Design Critiques
Hi, all, this is my first post here, though I've met some of you online and in person.

I'm very new to type design, but I dove in after we hosted a Crafting Type event at the Electronic Frontier Foundation office in San Francisco with Dave Crossland and Thomas Phinney. Since then I've read a lot of books, and went to my first TypeCon this year. At EFF I am a product designer and web developer (though I come from a fine art background, having studied drawing and art history), and we're about to launch a new website, which I'd like to see come along with a new typeface -- called Barlow. 

The font is in very early stages, even though it has a few weights now. It has a free, open source license (OFL 1.1), and currently lives at https://github.com/jpt/barlow where you can download the source Glyphs file and the OTFs.

At EFF we do a lot of work around rights and freedom in the digital world. This typeface is named after John Perry Barlow, our ailing cofounder, as a tribute. We currently use a modified DIN Engschrift in our logo, and use it for our headlines. We don't want to make too radical a change, but we really want to use something open source if we can -- which causes the commercial saturation of multi-weight gothics to become a bit more limited. We will use this mostly on the web, at 24px-72px, with words in title case for headlines.

The only requirement I have is that, at ~Medium/DemiBold, the words ELECTRONIC FRONTIER FOUNDATION must look a bit like the current DIN. We are redesigning our website, but not rebranding entirely. It would nice to start using our own font in our logotype, however. I don't like the square bowls of BPR on DIN, so I've rounded them more like the ATF titling gothics.