Learning by doing - 'Empereur' for pointers

Dwayne BleeDwayne Blee Posts: 2
edited March 2016 in Type Design Critiques
Hi all,
I'm quite new here as I've been getting more interested in type and the mix of creative and technical challenge it offers. I have a background in artworking but as for type design I'm a mere novice. Never-the-less I've given myself the challenge of designing a new typeface to accelerate my learning and understanding. If any of you have the time to take a look and offer pointers to develop further, I'd really appreciate it.

The inspiration was drawn from the hand-painted titles on the ornate framed paintings in the Palace of Versailles. The aim was to keep some of the charm of the workmanship, so many of the letters have only very minor changes to the original trace from my reference photos. I also had Didot in mind as a guide. It is intended as a display font - perhaps in magazine or retail applications if I had to imagine a use for it.

If you have the time, the PDF has more glyphs and the font in words/pangrams. Spacing is pretty rough at the moment, while I focus on the drawing.

Many thanks,
Dwayne

Comments

• Ray LarabieRay Larabie Posts: 1,376
    I feel like the lack of precision should be followed through. See how the top of the W is misaligned with the X and V? That's a visual cue that tells the reader that this is hand drawn. When you combine the quirky lettering style with elements of perfection, it spoils the effect. An antique, rustic cabinet with modern, stainless steel handles.

The g seems wide, which might be fine if not for the perfectly matching widths on nhm,bdpq. To harmonize with the capitals, they lowercase widths need a touch of strangeness. Consider a more conventional bqt.
  • Thomas PhinneyThomas Phinney Posts: 2,731
    You need to have overshoot on your rounds and pointy extremities.

Also: spacing.