Nirosta, a display face

Hello,

I'm a designer learning type design right now, and I'd love some critique on my first typeface, an art deco-looking display face called Nirosta. I can sense that there's plenty wrong with it, but I need some help seeing what all the problems are. (I'd like to keep fiddling around with it, plus start another one soon.)

In your eyes, what are the main problems here?

Comments

• Stephen ColesStephen Coles Posts: 994
    edited March 2016
    Welcome, Lindsay!

It appears that your horizontal strokes are the same mathematical weight as the vertical strokes. This makes them appear heavier. You’ll want to lighten those if you want even strokes throughout.

The ‘M’ is far too wide. Perhaps you pulled those diagonals from the ‘N’. Consider the ‘V’ angles instead.
  • Craig EliasonCraig Eliason Posts: 1,397
    On the M, consider thin thick thin thick instead of thin thick thick thin too 
  • I'm not yet at the point of being able to trust my own eyes, so think of these as questions rather than suggestions. Besides if I'm wrong I'm sure someone will correct me.

I'm not sure about the bar of the /G - no other horizontals are doubled.

The /4 shape strikes me as odd - the square, serifed form doesn't seem to fit with the rest of the characters, but that might just be me.

Is the /Y right or would it look better with reversed stress as per /V/W/X? 

To me it looks like there's too much overshoot on the /C and /G.

Next I would want to make some words and see how the spacing looks.

• Ray LarabieRay Larabie Posts: 1,376