Releasing Cyrillic for an existing Latin family

Kemie GuaidaKemie Guaida Posts: 21
edited November 2015 in Type Business
I recently got in contact with a designer that can help me add Cyrillic to my fonts (I haven't dared so far to do it myself since I have no knowledge of the cyrillic alphabet). These are all existing typefaces currently on sale, so I'm confused as to how to release the Cyrillic. I have several options:
  • Just add the Cyrillic to the current font, and sell at the same price, offering more value for the money (and attracting a bigger market)
  • Release the complete font (Latin + Cyrillic) as a new family ("Pro"?), for a higher price
  • Release a Cyrillic only version (skeptical about this)
Anyone done a similar thing? Any insight or recommendations?

Comments

• Personally I think that first option is very reasonable. I did this with my latest release. 

Why would you offer cyrillic for a higher price? A pro? You even dont know cyrillic alphabet. ;) 

Most countries that use cyrillic are relatively poor and not interested in spending money on fonts. You propably won't notice any profits from adding cyrillic script. 

But nonetheless it is so fun. You should try it!
  • I am including Cyrillic at no additional cost. It benefits everyone that way.

• Most countries that use cyrillic are relatively poor and not interested in spending money on fonts. You propably won't notice any profits from adding cyrillic script. 
    Well, there's also the market of all multinational companies doing business on countries that use cyrillic. Having cyrillic available might be a dealbreaker for some customers, even if it's a small percentage. 

But you're probably right, cyrillic support will probably not make people willing to pay more. They'll just move on to the next font. 
  • I think you should offer both option 2 and 3. That gives your clients a choice depending on their needs/budget.
  • The user and all related content has been deleted.