Square-ish Sans Serif

dmolanphydmolanphy Posts: 3
edited August 2012 in Type Design Critiques
Hello all,

Have been hard at work trying to learn the art of type design and I'm wondering if I could ask for some feedback on my first typeface. The intent is to design a simple (but complete) sans serif with just a hint of personality. I have been staring at this thing for almost six months and have asked for some feedback from the folks at Typophile, but was hoping for more.

Your thoughts, insight and input are much appreciated.

https://dl.dropbox.com/u/1120692/MD_Seedling.pdf

Comments

• James PuckettJames Puckett Posts: 1,969
    The big problem here is conceptual inconsistency. While many characters do have the squared super elliptical style, there are plenty of others that look like they came from some other typeface. a, e, r, S, s, 2, 3, 6, 8, 9 all look like they were pulled from old sans fonts by Tobias Frere-Jones.

Your widths are also unresolved; many letters have the wide geometric proportion of Gotham and do not fit in the grotesque proportions established by H and O. I think you need to spend more time looking at how the proportions of grotesque and square sans faces work and then devise a working system of widths for your design.
  • The sample on the third page is Myriad, not your font. :-/
  • @James Thank you much for your insights. I did study many other fonts (including several by HFJ) so I'm not surprised that a lot of their influence is showing. Your comment on widths was by far the most insightful though (I did mention I'm a newb right?) I'll definitely go back and rework those.

@Mekkablue Well that's embarrassing. :/ Oops.
  • Made some tweaks to make the characters mentioned (a, e, r, S, s) more squared. Haven't touched the numbers yet as I want to make sure the basic shapes are in place first.

Also reviewed character widths throughout and made some small adjustments to the a, c, e, h, n, s and u.

Better? Worse? Same?