Wide, all-caps geometric sans with Deco influences

Marc OxborrowMarc Oxborrow Posts: 220
edited August 2012 in Type Design Critiques
Hi gang,

I'd love to get your feedback on this typeface. While I've been wrangling bezier curves and setting/licensing/ogling type for a couple of decades as an art director, this is my first attempt at type design.

The spacing hasn't been addressed yet -- I wanted to make sure the glyphs were solid before tackling that task.

Thanks!

Comments

• Trying to link an image from Flickr without a distorted preview...
  • Marc OxborrowMarc Oxborrow Posts: 220
    edited August 2012
    That's better. Clicking on the image below will take you to a much larger version.

first_complete_alphabet
  • And here's a link to a PDF for those who might care to inspect the shapes more closely.

https://www.dropbox.com/s/b5hhbtdcl84180t/specimen_082612.pdf
  • Stephen ColesStephen Coles Posts: 994
    edited August 2012
    Hey Marc! First things I noticed:

- K arm and leg too heavy
    - R leg too heavy
    - S is leaning back
    - T feels too narrow
    - try a different Q
  • Craig EliasonCraig Eliason Posts: 1,397
    Yes, legs/tails of /K/R/Q/ aren't fitting in. Shape of bottom of /J/ also seems like an outlier. Don't assume /S/'s spine has to reach horizontal--that's producing the leaning effect. The contrast concept sort of breaks down with /V/W/Y/--are there other ways of constructing those letters that might work better?
  • I agree with most of Stewf's and Craig's comments, though I personally like a narrow T; it minimizes awkward combinations. I wouldn't make this one too much wider.

I also quite like your Q, though the tail seems too close to the body of the letter. It's making dark spots at both ends.