Aidar (working title)

Hi everyone.

This is my first post here, and also my first sans serif font, so would like to introduce myself. I'm from Ukraine. My native language is Ukrainian. I'm relatively new to typeface design and basically self-taught.

Sometime back (in May) I tried creating my own font, inspired by the classic geometric typefaces (like Futura, Erbar-Grotesk, Journal Sans).

Up until recently, I was quite satisfied with the prospect of making a geometric style font for my final project. Yet, somehow, everything has changed. I felt that I need something slightly different.

I decided to create a more humanistic appearance than that of traditional geometric typefaces.

Right now there is the Latin uppercase and lowercase characters, numerals, diacritical and punctuation marks etc. No ligatures, no old-style numbers, no small caps and no kerning yet.

Please let me know what you think. I would greatly appreciate your thoughts.

link to pdf file: http://alexanderlazard.com/download/aidar.pdf

Thanks!

Comments

• Are /q/ and /d/ too different from /b/ and /p/?
    The loop of /g/ seems out of character with the rounder bowls everywhere else.
    Baseline outstroke of ampersand might be better straighter and/or shorter.
    Shoulders of /m/n/h/u/ look thicker than stems.
  • attarattar Posts: 209
    edited December 2014
    Very nice! Really like what you've done here, Alexander. I see Dwiggins and Journal Sans as you said, blended with sans like Segoe UI/Myriad. A tad surprising at first but I think it works really well.

I am myself a self-taught designer form this year so, take the following with a pinch of salt I guess.

Maybe the tail of the Q could be a bit more curved and a bit more leaning downwards. Right now, and seeing how the tail ends it looks too calligraphic to me, something that isn't elsewhere in the font.