Should I switch from Glyphs?

Hey, TypeDrawers.

I’ve been learning typeface design for the past 4 years with Glyphs, and since I’m teaching myself, with a small annual income, Glyphs has been fitting my needs well since the interface is intuitive, and I didn’t need to crack open the UFO files.

When I interned with Ben Kiel, I used his hardware with RoboFont and occasionally FontLab.
When looking at type design job postings, the requirements are usually RoboFont and FontLab (except Monotype, which uses Glyphs—seems unusual).

I’m applying to KABK soon; I don’t know their preference in using a font editor program, but I have a feeling they teach using RoboFont.

Should I start using RoboFont, possibly start phasing out Glyphs? I’ve been told that what program I use doesn’t make that big of a difference (especially since Glyphs has 3-axis masters now), but I don’t know how true that is in terms of working and learning with others.

Comments

• attarattar Posts: 209
    I have used both in the past and do not see them as incompatible in terms of workflow. Glyphs does more out of the box. UFOs are compatible between the two programs (modulo little tricks e.g. things like the bracket trick in Glyphs) so you are not bound to one or another whatsoever, it's just about using different scripts and stuff but Robofont and Glyphs (plus their respective scripts, plug-ins etc.) seem to agree what eachother in terms of ergonomics, so as long as you find your way around setting up all the scripts you need in both programs, I'd say you can switch back and forth between the two programs in a drop-in way.