Options

Tessa Display

Hello,
I have thoroughly enjoyed reading this forum. Humbled by the expertise here.

This is my first post, so a little about me and my typeface. I am a graphic designer by trade with a love for type and typography. About a year ago, I started designing what would become the attached typeface. Originally inspired by old school Didones and later by display fonts like Miller Banner and Harriet.

This is my first attempt at type design and I'm completely self taught so open to all comments constructive or otherwise. Thanks in advance.

Comments

• Options
    I wonder if those interior curls get too tight in places like /r/'s arm, /y/'s tail, /g/'s ear, /f/'s and /J/'s hooks. /K/'s leg looks a little mechanical to me. A little more weight in the terminals of /s/ and of /k/'s arm, and maybe of /x/'s "/" stroke might be useful.
    Impressive for a first go, for sure!
  • Options
    attarattar Posts: 209
    Nice! That's pretty great for a first attempt.
  • Options
    Thanks, guys! I should say, early on, I solicited comments from a few folks (thanks Jackson Cavanaugh). Those critiques were super insightful and I basically started over, then went through several iterations after that. 

Craig, I struggled a lot with the leg of that /K/. Not sure why. I'm thinking about trying a more organic version like /R/. Thanks again for the comments!
  • Options
    Your /M strikes me as rather narrow. And that "finely" calls for a /fi ligature!
  • Options
    Updates! The first /K in Kraken is the original, second /K is new. 

I wonder if those interior curls get too tight in places like /r/'s arm, /y/'s tail, /g/'s ear, /f/'s and /J/'s hooks... A little more weight in the terminals of /s/ and of /k/'s arm, and maybe of /x/'s "/" stroke might be useful.
    I've made (very slight) adjustments per Craig's comments in the attached pdf. I also increased the width of the /M per Christian. Thoughts?
  • Options