Cost of Software, Use of Software

Hi,
30 years ago, I purchased Macromedia Fontagrapher because the font "Buckley" was not available digitally at that time in history. I was a freelancer who needed work, and a client who needed Buckley. Fontagrapher allowed me to quickly satisfy my client's needs.

30 years have quickly passed by me and now I would like to try developing a font or two of my own design. I see a lot of new software is continuing to become available to type designers, and I am so grateful for that. I would like to support these developers by purchasing their software. I see:
RoboFont is offered at $520 US
Glyphs is $305 US
Superpolator is $405 US
Metrics Machine is $500 US
Prepolator is $250 US
Fontagrapher 5.2 is available for $400 US and
Fontlab Studio 5.1 is offered at $650 US.

Yowzer! That is a LOT of coins. When I launch my first font, I want it to fully meet the standards of other professional fonts...
BUT... I cannot justify buying $1,000's of dollars of software to get my first font to that plateau.

1. What's a newbie to do?

2. Does anyone use Fontagrapher anymore?

Thanks in advance for your comments

Comments

• Superpolator, Metrics Machine, and Prepolator are tools for very specific production tasks. They are absolutely worth the money if you're doing those things regularly (each one paid for itself the first time I used it). But you don't need them to start.

I believe all of the rest of your apps have demo versions. Download them one at a time and actually spend some time with each one. They all work to the same goal (a font) but approach getting there in different ways.

It's important to remember that the software isn't going to make your font good.

• Craig EliasonCraig Eliason Posts: 1,398
    I cannot justify buying $1,000's of dollars of software to get my first font to that plateau.
    These add up to 1,000's, but you don't need them all! You can likely achieve your goal with just Glyphs.