correct node placement?

hyeeun
hyeeun Posts: 3
edited September 22 in Font Technology

This is my first time writing a post, so there may be mistakes.
If there are any, please let me know. Thank you.
-------------------------------------------------
I feel lost....

I'm unsure where the correct positions for D1 and D2 should be, and I don’t know what factors to consider in making this decision...When it comes time to finish a long curve, I feel like just placing D1 and D2 points, relying on intuition.
The curvature of P1 and P2 also looks awkward.

I want to move the point located at the very tip of the stroke (the sharpest point) to position A.
However, no matter how much I adjust it, the handles connected to the extremity get tangled or just don't look natural. The overall balance doesn’t seem right either.

Should D1 and D2 be positioned on parallel lines?
Would it help if the positions of D1 and D2, as well as the length and angle of the handles coming from those nodes, were all identical to achieve a smoother connection to the extremity?

What is the ideal position for D1 and D2, and how can I make P1 and P2, which connect the extremity to D1 and D2, look more natural?

I would greatly appreciate any advice 

*I’m also attaching other letters that I’ve drawn to clarify the issue.

Comments

• I should say there are no rules: it all depends on the shape you want to achieve.
    Personnaly, I would'nt be satisfied with the lower end of the vertical stroke (the "stick" on the right).

Concerning the placement of the A point, I use the ability of Fontlab 8 to move a node while staying on the curve, thus not changing the curve (of course this changes the handles. I don't know if this functionality is available on the other softwares.
  • hyeeun
    I should say there are no rules: it all depends on the shape you want to achieve.
    Personnaly, I would'nt be satisfied with the lower end of the vertical stroke (the "stick" on the right).