Is anyone actually using color fonts?

I'm curious if anyone has any actual data on color font usage they would be willing to share? Or even anecdotal information on how much this new(ish) font format is being used by designers and non-designers alike. Just wondering if it's worth the effort as opposed to a layered font.
Tagged:

Comments

• Axel CORJON
    Axel CORJON Posts: 21
    Hi,
    As a graphic designer, I never used them :/

• Yes, not for letters but brand related graphics, so the regular Joe can access them in Powerpoint for their fancy presentations directly from their keyboard.
    Not massively used, while it's handy, people hardly remember it exists. It wasn't a big effort to put together, so no big deal.
    Also, the company logo in the corporate font is now coloured, also no one uses it, haha.
  • Thomas Phinney
    Thomas Phinney Posts: 2,831
    Why not do all the above? I would think you would design in full color and then do everything else from there: export whatever flavors of color font you want, as well as layered separate faces, as needed. I would not expect that to be significant extra work, unless your tools are daft in how they support color fonts. Ditto, if you already have the separate-layers-as-fonts, compositing into a single color font should be trivial.

The main problem at the moment is that there are competing flavors of color font. I expect the main victor as a general-purpose format is going to be the Microsoft OpenType COLR/CPAL flavor (v1 now supports gradients) as it is supported in pretty much all browsers. The biggest strike against it is that Adobe is only supporting the OpenType SVG flavor of color font, last I heard. And of course COLR/CPAL has no OS-level support on Mac or iOS. Sigh. But it isn’t like Apple’s sbix is a viable general-purpose color font contender, IMO.

Cheers,

T