How do you make a living as an independent type designer?

Kasper Pyndt
Kasper Pyndt Posts: 34
edited June 27 in Type Business
Hello fellow type designers,

The headline says it all. Type design practices come in many shapes and sizes; Some of the designers I've talked to are working almost solely on custom type while others earn their $ from retail sales, lettering and other things. 

I'm writing this thread as I'm still relatively new in the industry and I'm curious to learn how you – or the ones of you with more experience than myself – found your path in type design, making a steady income doing something that you're passionate about. 

I haven't yet found the solution (if such a thing even exists), but have managed to get by since starting my company in 2018 working independently primarily as a type designer (80% type and 20% graphic design). I've found that branching out has been necessary for me, since I haven't yet been able to earn enough from just custom type and retail license sales. So I've been doing a bit of teaching and freelancing for agencies and foundries in addition to selling retail licenses and the occasional custom typeface.

Happy to receive any insights on this fairly lofty topic. How'd you go about running a type design practice anno 2024? :) 

Kasper

Comments

• Craig Eliason
    Craig Eliason Posts: 1,424
    This thread from last year had some insights.
    (Not intending to cut off any new ones!) 
  • Vasil Stanev
    Vasil Stanev Posts: 775
    edited June 20
    I think two things:
    - the most successful mass products are the ones that tap into people's narcissism. Whatever helps people to show off to the world how fantastic they and what they care about is - offspring, hobbies, shape of the body, substances that go into their mouths - this thing is golden. Find a way/app to marry that to type design.