Looking for feedback on my very first typeface.

ok_locksmith_8414
edited May 13 in Type Design Critiques
I am working on my first typeface. I am new to type design with zero experience. After learning and still learning many things about type, the design process, and many sketches later, I would like to get some feedback, get opinions and make sure I am on the right track. Everything I am showing you is what I have so far. This will be the medium weight. One day a very long time from now there will be 9 weights with an oblique, contextual alternates, tabular figures, greek letters, fractions, and accents. I am trying to design a font that can be used as display and text.
The kerning is off because I havent started on that yet. 

Comments

• Craig Eliason
    Craig Eliason Posts: 1,429
    Good start for a first go!
    Terminals of C/c and related terminal of G might need rethinking. They seem to fit neither with the closed, DIN like shape of /O nor the quirky flatness you have in /a/e/g/six/nine. Especially with /c they are also creating a counterspace that is far too large compared to other letters. 
    Top of /f and bottom of /t (and probably /l) seem slight. 
    /X and /x feel like they are pulling apart. 
    If the "upside-downness" of /eight and /B is going to stay, perhaps more letters need to share in that "low-waisted" quality.