Options

extraneous nodes question in Fontlab

I'm new to Fontlab and type design software in general. I am working on a font intended for motion design. a primary function is to create outlines of the letterforms and have an ability to transform and distort easily using the nodes. The font was intentionally designed on a 16x9 letterbox size and a thirds grid with very straight sides and exact radius corners for this reason. however, the letters contain way more nodes than the original artwork that was created. Since I am so new to this software, I am certain this is user error, but I can't find a solution scouring the web. Can you all point me in a direction of what I am doing wrong?

All letterforms are built from the same root shapes and have minimal nodes such as the S below: this is how it looked in Adobe Illustrator originally.

However, this is how it looks after being converted from text using 'create outlines' in Adobe Illustrator.

I am trying to figure out where all these extra nodes are coming from?!? thoughts?

Comments

• Options
    Thomas PhinneyThomas Phinney Posts: 2,754
    edited February 25
    You aren’t showing the off-curve points in FontLab, nor the outlines in FontLab, but I would guess you are using FontLab’s default cubic Bézier curves (PostScript style outlines) instead of quadratic (TrueType style outlines).

When you export from FontLab, what font format are you using? TrueType, I suspect.

If so, the contours get converted to quadratic, which is an approximation and often uses more on-curve points. Converting from font to outlines in Illustrator converts the contours BACK to cubic, which is ~ lossless, but unless done with extra cleverness does not result in any simplification: you still have all the extra points from the initial conversion to TrueType quadratics.