Options

Why so many coding typefaces with large x-height?

As a software developer I stare for hours on end to code on a monospaced typeface.

I notice that a lot, if not most, of the designs for coding almost pride themselves on the large x-height.
Is it because most are derived from a sans optimized for reading on screen?

The thing is, for many years now there has been a drive towards making code less obscure,
and part of that is giving things descriptive names, which in many popular languages is often done by having compositeCamelCasedIdentifiers.

The large x-height is terrible for the camelCased identifiers.
See this sample where Consolas, Menlo and Input represent, I think, the mainstream trend in coding fonts.

I see few designs with small / moderate x-height.
In the image above, only Red Hat Mono and Intel One Mono.

For Intel One Mono the moderate x-height is touted a feature: https://www.intel.com/content/www/us/en/company-overview/one-monospace-font.html

> ascenders and descenders are longer for more quickly identifiable "word shapes"

So I was meaning to ask about the causes of the large x-height,
and kind of wishing and hoping that more designers pay attention to that.

Comments

• Options
    John ButlerJohn Butler Posts: 248
    I have my IDLE shell set to run in Bodoni Egyptian Mono. Buy it!
  • Options
    Nick ShinnNick Shinn Posts: 2,148
    Thanks John! I didn’t design it as a coding face, and sometimes wonder whether I should have put a slash through the lining zero. What do you think?
  • Options
    jaimesjaimes Posts: 11
    edited February 8
    Oh, very interesting, thanks! I think I will buy it, yes.
    I also like Carot Mono, though the regular renders too thick on mac, and the light is too light.
  • Options
    There's also Lotion, which I think is the font Wes Anderson would code in.
    Really like it, but doesn't serve me as my on-the-job type.

• Options