Options

Reasons to NOT Standardize Cap-Height Across Font Library

(I'm still a student so apologies in advance if this is a basic question.)

If you're working with a 1000 UPM, I've noticed that the cap-heights for many typefaces seem to hover around the 700 mark (± 50ish units).

If you have multiple typefaces in your library (sans, serif, slab, etc.), is there a good reason to NOT standardize your typefaces across your library? (i.e., every typeface is set to say Cap-Height: 700?)

Wouldn't it possible to just modify your x-height/ascenders/descenders/zones to get the metrics you want? Is there a reason to set each typeface with a unique cap-height? 

Comments

• Options
    Not sure I'm understanding your question, but: since most text is in mixed case which is dominated by lowercase, x-height has the largest (though not only) impact on perceived size at a given point-size. So I would think arbitrarily standardizing your cap height may make your large-x-height designs seem relatively too large. Or in other words, to meet expectations of how big a font should read at a given point-size, you will likely need to lower the cap height rather than just increase all the other metrics for designs in which that cap height is relatively smaller. 
    If you're talking about a "superfamily" and not just a whole library of otherwise unrelated designs, then there would be more incentive to standardize the cap heights I would say. 
  • Options
    So, first, Craig is right. Cap height is not usually the primary determinant of how large a font looks, to most eyes. This is why Apple rescaled Zapfino in between two OS releases, 2.5x as big as it had been before. So, clearly there are at least some reasons not to make all possible fonts have the same cap height in a library—in the case of Zapfino, because it had a tiny x-height.