Sale Duration

Hi everyone, I'm planning to run a sale soon and it got me thinking about not the percentage you offer off, but the length of time you run the sale. I currently offer my small selection of fonts through YouWorkForThem and MyFonts and I believe from memory that MyFonts do/did recommend running the sale for 45 days. Is there any benefit to running a sale that length of time as opposed to running a much shorter sale? I understand there also would be many other additional factors coming into play (the popularity of the fonts, foundry, etc.) but I'm curious about everyone's input. 

For my input, I've noticed that when I run a sale for 45 days, I tend to see more sales during the last few days of the sale.

Thanks!
Tagged:

Comments

• myersjj
    myersjj Posts: 1
    Have you tried running a short-term sale (like 7 - 10 days) to see if that encourages sales?
  • Hi there.

I work as a designer in an email marketing agency (if anyone is looking for help on that front, I can try an put you in contact with the bosses - will provide more details via DMs, if anyone's interested) and, although none of the clients are type designers/foundries, the sales we run for our clients are usually shorter (sometimes shorter than a week, by a few days, sometimes around 7-10+ days if they're centered around a big holiday) and centered around some big day or event - like a holiday - or are part of a flow (Welcome Flow, Cart/Browse Abandonment Flow, etc.) and most of the time those sales are divided into 3 parts: Early Access, the actual sale, Extended Sale.
    From what I can tell (tho, I might be wrong - it's morning over here and I haven't looked too deep into it), everyone gets access to the "Early Access" sale and the actual sale with no discount code needed, most of the time. While for Extended Sale there's always a discount code, which you can get if you're a subscriber to the email list of that client.