Options

Critique my display neo-grotesque

I've been playing with this display neo-grotesque for a while now, and I'm becoming a little blind to it. As I'm still a beginner I'd like to hear what you all think about it. :smile:

Comments

• Options
    The /a looks droppy, maybe raise the bowl. The /f and /e have over- and under-bites, respectively. The g might benefit from having the sloping part be straight. The m looks like two /n put together. The s suffers from bad quality curves, try to make them transition more easilty. I like what you have done, however, there aren't a lot of optical adjustments it seems. However, I would call this a humanist, not a neo-grotesque. All of these problems can be fixed with a little bit of work and some dedications, but it is showing a lot of potential.
  • Options
    Thomas PhinneyThomas Phinney Posts: 2,757
    edited December 2023
    This is not going to be helpful for them, but I write it to help other people who are reading the thread: I am always sad when somebody like “tersaniko” shows up with a complete font and asks for feedback, because they could have saved themselves a TON of work by asking for feedback earlier when they had just a few letters done.

That said, of course it is super impressive that people hammer away at these things for so many hours on their own! But I do have some thoughts.... sorry if this does not come off gently enough. I am hoping it will be helpful and does not discourage you! I would love to see a second take later.  :)

Why does the /o overshoot less than /p and /q? The bottom of the /o feels like it doesn’t overshoot at all.

It feels like you don’t have a scheme for the widths of caps. It has neither oldstyle nor modern proportions, and feels a bit confused about the widths. Why is the /A weirdly narrow? It looks like it is from a condensed typeface. /V and /W are pretty cramped as well.

/e has a strange underbite