Options

Is capital alpha just /A?

Hello,

I am an amateur type design, and I am making a font with Greek support. I just started, and I was wondering if I could take the capital /A and put it in the capital alpha spot? Is this correct of does capital alpha have a (slightly) different design?

Comments

• Options
    I forgot to mention, but if so (that capital alpha is just /A), does it also hold true with capital beta, epsilon, zeta, eta, iota, kappa, mu, nu, omicron, rho, tau, upsilon, and chi?
  • Options
    Nick ShinnNick Shinn Posts: 2,148
    Are there any typefaces in which Greek and Latin A are different?
  • Options
    John HudsonJohn Hudson Posts: 2,983
    I can’t think of any.

There are some historical styles of Greek capitals, derived from Byzantine icon lettering, that have no historical Latin equivalent. I can just about imagine a display typeface in which the Latin and Greek would diverge along those lines, with the Latin keeping to contemporaneous western models and the Greek to eastern, but with harmonised weights and proportions.
  • Options
    Craig EliasonCraig Eliason Posts: 1,404
    I find it fascinating that Latin and Greek had that developmental distinction, where both wind up with two cases combining older and more formal majuscules with later and more writing-inflected minuscules, but in Latin we see a conformist melding and in Greek we don't. 
  • Options
    There is one language-specific form of A, it’s the German Ä with lowered diacritic.

On a related note, there are typefaces in which K is different in Latin and Cyrillic.
  • Options
    John HudsonJohn Hudson Posts: 2,983
    edited August 2023
    On a related note, there are typefaces in which K is different in Latin and Cyrillic.