Options

Fontbakery feedback

I am curious if anyone has used fontbakery and has any feedback that they would like to share, here, in the GitHub issue tracker, or to me privately. 

I've come to learn in the last week that some folks have not communicated their feedback on how the project could be better in their eyes, since they didn't believe the feedback would be acted on. Since that's not the case, I'm hoping to reach anyone here who may have additional feedback :)
Tagged:

Comments

• Options
    Ray LarabieRay Larabie Posts: 1,379
    edited June 2023
    Hi Dave,
    It was very difficult for me to install it in Windows. I have very little experience with Python and most of the steps in the installation instructions didn't work. I got some outside help from someone with some expertise, and they had a tough time getting it going. The biggest battle was getting the paths sorted out. We tried all kinds of combinations until we got the specific path scheme it was looking for. I think I reset my machine a dozen times that day. But once it's up and running it's no problem. I recommend watching someone who doesn't know what they're doing try to install it in Windows.
  • Options
    c.g.c.g. Posts: 53
    I have no problems installing in Python 3.10 on Windows 10 64 bit, but there’s no way to make the progress bar work. So I always have to use -s to deactivate it.

It’s a great tool, every type designer should use it. There are some errors that should be warnings in my opinion, but it’s not a great problem.
  • Options
    So far I understand there is also a more user-friendly web version on https://github.com/googlefonts/fontbakery-dashboard however the page with a Live Demo http://fontbakery.graphicore.de/ isn't available (404 Not Found).
  • Options
    Dave CrosslandDave Crossland Posts: 1,394
    @Ray Larabie good stuff! I have posted https://github.com/googlefonts/fontbakery/issues/4181 to improve that. How regularly have you been updating the package?