How does anchor corresponds to glyph positioning feature in Fontlab 7?

thanathana Posts: 4
edited April 2022 in Type Design Software
I'm using Fontlab 7 (7.2.0.7649) on Windows to create a Thai font. I created 3 glyphs with several anchors named as follows.

After I generated mark and mkmk features using the auto features by Fontlab, here is the result when I combined those 3 glyphs (in order from left to right of the image above) together and turned the mark and mkmk features on. It seems that top anchor is attached to bottom.

What I expect is the following.

And I also expect it to be able to do the following.

What was wrong here? What should I do to achieve the expected result? 
I'm fairly new to type design. Thank you in advance for your reply.

Comments

• John HudsonJohn Hudson Posts: 2,955
    It looks like the bottom mark is interfering with the positioning of the top mark, which indicates that the mark feature lookups are not filtered by mark class. I don’t use FL7’s built in mark code generation, so am not sure how it works, but have seen similar problems in other fonts and from other tools.

What should be happening is that mark feature lookups have process mark filters set so that the lookup for the top marks only processes top marks, and the lookup for bottom marks only processes bottom marks. If the lookup for top marks is not filtered in this way, then the presence of the bottom mark interferes with the positioning of the top mark on the base.
  • thanathana Posts: 4
    I think you're right.

Unless there are settings for this, I suspect that this is a Fontlab bug. I tried the same thing on Glyphs, exactly the same naming of anchors, and there is no problem at all.

I will try to file this issue to Fontlab support and see if this is a bug or I simply misconfigured something.

edited April 2022
    Somehow I now believe that this is a problem with 'mkmk' feature generation in Fontlab.