Problem with making lining figures in FontLab 7

Eryk KosinskiEryk Kosinski Posts: 71
edited August 2021 in Font Technology
I am a beginner user of FontLab 7 and got into learning lining figures recently. I have a problem with creating proportional oldstyle figures. I am using onum and pnum features. I managed to do oldstyle figures and proportional ones but unable to do proportional oldstyle figures.        

Comments

• John HudsonJohn Hudson Posts: 2,955
    edited August 2021
    In OpenType Layout, you need to think what is the order of the substitution lookups, and what is the state of the output from previous lookups that provides the input for the current lookup. This will determine what substitutions you need to put into the lookup in order to achieve your desired result.

In FontLab 7—and other tools based on the Adobe AFDKO system—there are two ways you can control the order of lookups.

1. Write all your substitution lookup code in the prefix section of the features panel, give the lookups names, and then reference those names in the (arbitrarily) ordered features below. If you do it this way, then the order of the lookups in the prefix determines the order in which they are applied.

2. Write your substitution lookup code directly in the features, and drag and drop the features into the order you want them applied.

I prefer method (1), because I am often working on complex fonts that require interleaving of lookups from different features, but if you are making a fairly typical Latin font, you can probably use method (2), which is that most people do.

So...

I am presuming your default numerals are lining tabular, i.e. those are the numerals that are mapped directly to the Unicode character codepoints. [This is the most common default numeral form in fonts for legacy reasons.]

In my fonts, I use these suffixes to identify different variant numeral types (but you can use whatever suffixes you like):

.LP = lining proportional