Printing Type

Hello, 

I wonder if this is the right forum for these questions, but I plan to buy a printer soon and I would like to know what your opinions are on this subject. Budget is sadly constricted to 75-125 euros. Could I find something decent and able to print Didots, Bodonis and other hairlines at that cost?
Tagged:

Comments

• Thomas PhinneyThomas Phinney Posts: 2,731
    I assume black and white is OK?
    Although “edge enhancement” is nice in general, for this you just need resolution. 
    So, look for a TRUE 1200 dpi b&w laser printer in that range. (not one that reaches 1200 through “enhancement” techniques)

That said, given your strict budget, the printer will likely have compromises in one or more other areas.

If you are on Windows and not Mac, the Xerox B210 looks good

• Thanks for all the information! Being a complete novice, I guess that I have learned that laser is definitely better than inkjet.

I am actually on Mac and I have printing black and white texts on a HP ENVY Photo that is actually made for printing on photographic paper during the last months. I used quality art paper instead (non-photo) and I've been surprised by the quality of it - crisp letters, perfectly rendered hairlines, a general impression of cleanliness. 

Do you think that doubling the dots per inch parameter actually makes a big difference in terms of visual quality and sharpness?

Thank you for your patience and help.
  • John SavardJohn Savard Posts: 1,088
    Do you think that doubling the dots per inch parameter actually makes a big difference in terms of visual quality and sharpness?
    Of course, it is really Thomas Phinney himself, at whom this question is directed, who will have to answer it in order that it will be truly answered.
    You noted, though, that you want to be able to print typefaces that include hairlines. That almost directly implies a need for resolution.