Possible Collaboration Between Artist and Type Designer

Daniel MitsuiDaniel Mitsui Posts: 1
edited May 2021 in Type Business
Hello. This is my first post here, so my apologies if this is not the appropriate forum for this sort of inquiry.

I am an artist who is looking for a collaborator to make a typeface, or several typefaces. 

Some background: I mostly make ink drawings in a late medieval tyle, and these include a lot of calligraphy and fancy lettering - versals and blackletter mostly. 

About a decade ago I undertook such a project with some 1500 calligraphed words. I really wanted to find a script that matched well with Gothic artwork, but was easy for contemporary eyes to read. Not being satisfied with the few historical examples I could find, I decided to create my own. 

This, ultimately, became the basis for my first typeface, which I named Benedict (after my older son). You can see an example here:

http://www.danielmitsui.com/00_misc/benedict_characters.jpg

I scanned the hand-drawn letters, reworked them a lot on Photoshop, and used Type 3.2 to turn them into a font. I use this all the time in my own artwork and publishing projects (mostly letterpress broadsides). And for these purposes, it works very well. 

When I first designed it, I never expected that anyone else would want it, but I am getting more and more requests for a public version of it. And every time, I need to explain, rather sheepishly, that in its current form, it's not really useful to anyone but me.