Using Multiple Bitmaps to Interpolate in Size ?

Good Day, 
I would like to know if there is a way to use one or multiple bitmaps as 'fixed-hinting' for e.g. in 8px and 12px and than interpolate from these steps. What I hope to get is a sharper and more accurate representation of my font in smaller sizes. I'm also a hobbyist Pixel artist so I would create these bitmaps manually in a 3 or 4 greyscale palette, simulating antialiasing.

Thank you for any Hint :smile:

Comments

• John HudsonJohn Hudson Posts: 2,955
    It is possible to embed bitmaps in a TrueType font, but these may not get used in modern environments. To my knowledge, there is no way to ‘interpolate’ embedded bitmaps for intermediate sizes: for any size for which an embedded bitmap is not provided, normal rasterisation would occur.
  • @Moritz Rädler Ever since MacOS started treating bitmapfonts like dirt things have been too impracticable in that department.

That said, you might be interested in checking out this hand–anti-aliased font family of three I made a while back. (Needless to say, there was much squinting.  :-)
  • edited January 2021
    And what a perfect demonstration of the situation that this site is scaling it willy-nilly and blurring it into irrelevance...  :-/

The zoomed-in 9th frame should give you a good idea though.
  • Moritz RädlerMoritz Rädler Posts: 2
    edited January 2021
    Well First Thank you both for the insight, and a shame that bitmap support get dropped instead of enhanced !  If something looks atm obsolete It doesnt mean it stay that way.
    Thank you @Hrant P. Papazian I will definitely will have a in-depth look at this font :) 
    (opening the image in a new tab helps me with the forced scaling )
  • John HudsonJohn Hudson Posts: 2,955