First timer here - Looking for opinions/help/anything

Hi there! I'm new to type designing, but I've always wanted to attempt my own, and I'm very excited to potentially create something that is worth while (even if it's just for myself). I don't have any experience in this particular field, and I'm not a graphic designer, so I truly mean that I'm really damn ignorant on this subject matter.

The typeface I created is predominantly inspired by vintage Hollywood, even though it's probably an amalgamation of stuff. I'm looking for any advice/opinions/critique that can help me make it more professional looking. Pretty sure what I've made is pretty bad, so any help would be appreciated.

Th.pdf 22.4K

Comments

• a few thoughts...

several letters, noticeably U e m n and top of f, have horizontal elements much heavier than the verticals, so they look very “off” compared to the rest of the design. Compare the weight of o vs e, h vs n. (o and h are better)

k and z seem heavier than many of the other letters.

A is very top-heavy

Round vertical parts of C D G are much heavier than the straight verticals (too much so, a tiny bit is ok, though)

S and s are heavier top and bottom than on the spine. This construction is rare in professional lettering or typography. Usually if there is a difference, the spine is the heaviest part of the S/s.

Some of the symbols seem a lot heavier than the alphabetic characters, which feels a bit weird.

You might find this video of mine helpful (even though it uses an old app nobody is using any more), as well: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LR-CG5eB3nQ
  • Simon CozensSimon Cozens Posts: 724
    edited October 2020