Options

Autohint better than my TTF Hinting–What can I improve?

Lukas HornLukas Horn Posts: 14
edited January 2020 in Technique and Theory

Auto hint vs. true type hinting in glyphs (TT instructor)

Hello everyone. I’m new at TT Hinting and I want to understand how it works. For learning I take a font I’m currently working on, so there are some inconsistencies in the design, but that’s (hopefully) not the center of my question. 

You can see on the left side my font as a TTF done with autohint. I think it is better if you compare it to the right side. Right side is the result of my hinting. I think the shapes of the glyphs in small size are clearer in my version. But in the middle sizes there are strange things happen. For example the b got a great contrast on baseline but a small contrast on the top of the x-height (For instance in size 16).

Is it a problem of the construction of my letters or a hinting problem? 

I’m working in Glyphs App and this is what I've done:

font information

– I defined stem values & alignment zones

In the design interface

– my letters got extremepoints

– the extreme points in the y direction have an anchor on the alignment zones

– I set stem hints in x and y direction

x direction

y direction

Finally

– Should I take a look to the shape of my outlines or is it a common hinting problem?

– Are there some values I should set in the Font Infos like the blue values or TTFZones etc. (I don’t have a clear picture of how I can make the hinting better with all these different values)?

– Is it for the transformation into TTF important to remove all overlaps in the font?

– I heard different things, so I’m little bit confused–is it important to set hints in y AND x direction?

Glyphs specific questions