How to Find a Complementary font..? [aka newbie needs help!!]

I'm a new designer with an issue. Trying to cobble together letterhead and an envelope for a client using a logo (wordmark using Alpaca Scarlett Demo) that some else made and the direction to 'not make this too design-y' because the target market is 'middle America Mom and Pop types'. 

I have a couple concepts but am not feeling it and having a hard time simplifying/finding a winner....any thoughts? 

also...are icons (like those used in the letterhead) corny?

Comments

• If it were me, I'd select more neutral typography for the addresses. The typeface you've chosen draws attention to itself for a couple of different reasons, which is not typically desirable for this kind of thing.

For similar reasons, I'd leave off the little icons. I wouldn't necessarily call them "corny," but they add distracting clutter without contributing much of anything else.

The kerning in the words "COMMUNITY BUYERS" is, less than good. Notice all the space around the Ys, for example. Despite the logo not being something you designed, it really ought to be fixed.

And speaking of the logo, I don't quite get it. It says "MOBILE HOME," but the illustrated part of the logo looks like a standard non-mobile, stick-built house with a pitched roof.
  • notdefnotdef Posts: 168
    You are probably not allowed to use a demo font for anything but a mockup – certainly not a logo.
  • JosasJosas Posts: 3
    @Frode what do you mean by a 'demo font'

• JosasJosas Posts: 3
    @Cory Maylett  thanks for that straight forward feedback!

So maybe using something like an Open Sans font would work here?

I'll definitely work on the kerning around the Community Buyers.

There's actually a good proportion of mobile homes with pitched roofs but I get what you're saying here.

• notdefnotdef Posts: 168
    Alpaca Scarlett Demo”
  • You are probably not allowed to use a demo font for anything but a mockup