C.M.T.

edited February 2018 in Type Design Critiques
Hello TypeDrawers,
This is my first post in this forum, I'm an illustrator and graphic designer, and amateur type designer. C.M.T (provisional name) is an ornate display typeface, and my first attemp at at creating a serif typeface with thick and thin strokes. I know that there must be contrast issues almost everywhere, but I wanted to have some feedback about how to solve these and other issues. I've decided to always leave the same gap between the horizontal serifs inside each glyph, but it's making it difficult to control the contrast of some letters (specially the X), so maybe I'll get rid of that feature.

Note: I still haven't attacked the espacing of the font, right now I'm just developping the glyph design.

Thanks in advance !

Comments

• Just a short remark. There is no glyph design without spacing. Proportions and spacing are as important as the shape of the serifs and the contras of the strokes. 
  • notdefnotdef Posts: 168
    This reminds me of Basque lettering
  • George ThomasGeorge Thomas Posts: 631
    edited February 2018
    Spacing between the serifs is the wrong approach; they should be ignored. Spacing is established by using a string such as HHOHOO for capitals, measured between stems.
  • The user and all related content has been deleted.
  • @Ariel Martín Pérez-- I sent you a private message.
  • Oooo. Interesting. Would be nice to see it in words; that might amplify issues you haven't considered yet. 
  • Hello everyone, thank for your answers. Some hints:

1 - Its not intended to be a commercial typeface.
    2 - Since TypeDrawers wont let me edit/delete my post, there seems to be nothing I can do to change the name of the post. I'm just new here, so I'm still discovering how everything works. Are there ways to contact administrators ?