Code Monkey

Is it essential to be able to code in order to be a modern typeface designer? As many of you will know, I am just starting out and looking here at all the 'code talk' fills me with some dread as I am not really a code guy.

Comments

• Typefaces are software, you need to be comfortable with code and code-related things at some level. Even if you avoid dealing with production things like Python or Macros you'll need to read font specifications, deal with OpenType, and have an idea how to troubleshoot problems if you plan on releasing fonts to the world.
  • Yeah, I suspected so. oh well.
  • John HudsonJohn Hudson Posts: 2,955
    edited February 2013
    You don't need to be able to program, but you should be able to read and understand a technical specification and figure out how it relates to the tools that you are using. Even if you are not a programmer -- I'm not --, it helps to think like one in terms of imagining how scripts of various kinds might help you in your work. Then you can describe what you want and hire someone to write the code for you. I have a lot of Python macros for FontLab Studio, written for me over the years by Karsten Luecke, Ben Kiel, David Březina and Adam Twardoch. My part in their development was describing fairly precisely what I wanted to be able to do and then opening my wallet.
  • If you just want to draw and space Latin types for use at ample resolutions, I don't think you need to know anything about, or write any code, or type much more than a font name.
  • Ray LarabieRay Larabie Posts: 1,376
    edited February 2013