Bunbeg — a serif in six weights — also includes traditional Irish letterforms

Matt McDonaghMatt McDonagh Posts: 14
edited November 2017 in Type Design Critiques
This is my first post on TypeDrawers. I'm a graphic designer, college lecturer and sometime type designer. I haven't released any fonts previously as I've never been entirely satisfied with them, but I'm determined to see this one through to completion. Please be critical!

Bunbeg is a serif inspired by an old hand-painted sign written in old (~1850s) Irish. I created the Irish letter forms first, then went on to add the Latin. I'm using Glyphs with three masters — light, semi-bold and Heavy. I've attached Regular here. It's partially kerned (mainly lowercase) and there's no italics yet. The proof sheet shows the Latin mainly, but I've also included a few pages in the Irish.

I'd appreciate your comments and critique. Thanks in advance

Bunbeg sampler

Comments

• Adam JagoszAdam Jagosz Posts: 688
    edited November 2017
    Welcome to the forum, Matt!

There's something uneasy about /t. The noncalligraphic tapering of the bottom seems out of place. You might be able to fix it while retaining the tapering, though, I'm not sure :)

The acute seems detached from the base glyph. It needs to be either lowered or made more inclined and longer. (I feel similar about the dot accent, that's a tough one, though, as it looks fine above the /i but not above the /t – you might need to find a compromise).

The /f and its ligatures need more spacing work.

Not sure how you'd go about making the italics? :relaxed: