CCMP/LIGA Character Composition Question for Fictional Font

Hi All!

Sorry I didn't read the rule that says real names only...I'm John Lapage :)

Just so you know where I am coming from, I am a scientist and programmer, so I have some technical expertise, but only amateur ability in design, and I am learning font technology from scratch.

I am trying to sort out a font for a fictional language, specificially Xi'an from Star Citizen. Ideally I want to be able to type the english transliteration (like pinyin) of the language, and have it automatically parsed into the script. This poses an interesting technical challenge. The features are:
1) A syllabic language much like Korean, where there are blocks that could represent a single vowel/dipthong, a pair of letters, or a letter-vowel-consonant block
2) Each block may have further pitch or punctuation markings subsumed within it
3) The language should be able to be written vertically. This means you can't just have the letters offset so that the positioning puts them where they are meant to be, since they will end up on different lines. That solution does work okay for horizontal script though, but really it would be better to have the block syllables properly composed.

This means there are hundreds of thousands of possible combinations. Obviously I am not thinking about doing all those manually, but I have a technical question regarding how to best compose them. I am using OpenType as the environment currently.