No Name Serif (first typeface)

Hello,

This is my first attempt at designing a typeface. I'm a recent graphic design graduate and was looking for ways to hone my skills as a typographer and develop further understanding on how type is constructed( in other words, looking for ways to not waste my time before finding stable employment). Apart from bits and pieces from typography class in school, I have no training in type design.

The idea is to make a less contrasting baskerville font for text setting ideally between 9-12pts for both low res screen(what I'm working from) and print. This is what I have so far. Critique is really appreciated before I go on doing further damage to the typeface, thanks!

*I am aware that I need to be more generous with the sidebearings and the word space is way to big.

Comments

• This looks great! Keep it up  :D 
  • Thanks! I'll keep plowing through and post again with updates
  • /o/ looks light. Since a curve is only at its thickest for a moment (vs. a straight stem which stays thick), its width needs to be boosted to optically match.
    The /o/ (particularly the outer contour) seems a little lumpy to my eye. /n/ shoulder too--curves are hard! Do you have more nodes than necessary along those contours?
    I think if the head serifs are all sharp corners, the baseline serifs shouldn't have those rounded tops. 
  • /n shoulder is really bumpy, and the curves on the serif look a bit funny too. As well as reducing the number of nodes to a minimum, you need to match the curvatures on both sides of the node - see this. Tools can help while you're learning to see the bumps. If you have Glyphs, use SpeedPunk or my own Supertool, if you have Fontlab VI curve visualisation is built in.