Should we tell Adobe how bad the Illustrator UI is for drawing with beziers?

2»

Comments

• Mike HendenMike Henden Posts: 5
    edited October 2022
    Another piece of irony, the Bezier curves tool in Adobe Photoshop actually works better than the Bezier curves tool in Illustrator. Why is that?
  • Mike HendenMike Henden Posts: 5
    edited October 2022
    In fact I'm sure I never said that... :*
    the good old days
  • Cory MaylettCory Maylett Posts: 245
    edited October 2022
    I worked as a designer and design director at a daily newspaper from the mid-'80s until around 2000. During the early days of desktop publishing, I worked equally with MacDraw, Aldus Freehand, and Adobe Illustrator from the first versions of each. I used them all because each wire service supplied various maps and graphics to newspapers created in its preferred tool.

MacDraw, of course, was primitive and terrible. However, I wouldn't call Freehand in either its Aldus or Macromedia iterations superior to Illustrator. I'm afraid I have to disagree with statements that one was superior to the other when each had its strengths and weaknesses. Which was better was mainly one of personal preference. I preferred Illustrator, but I can also understand why others favored FreeHand.

That said, in recent years, Illustrator has become so bloated with additional features and an increasingly buggy GUI that I don't find it pleasurable to use any longer, even though I use it every day.

The Macintosh fill bug on all sharp angles at high enlargement I've circled below drove me nuts for the last couple of years, but Adobe seems to have finally fixed it in one of the more recent updates. Now, I'd be happy if they would fix the 20 or 30 other things driving me nuts.

Perhaps, as others have stated, I've become used to the straightforward, unadorned accuracy of the drawing tools in Glyphs and FontLab.

• John ButlerJohn Butler Posts: 243
    edited October 2022