Uptown Sans Critique

Hello! 

I'd like some feedback on this typeface. It's a unicase display sans serif which I'm intending for digital use.

This typeface likes to get a little weird. It's inspired by the works of Eric Carle, Saul Bass, and Jim Flora. I wanted to make something that would fit well in a fun context (maybe a taco bar's identity or lighthearted Keynote typeface).

I made it because I love typography and wanted to understand type design a bit better. I also wanted to make something which expressed myself in an unusual, yet fun way.

My experience: I'm a UX/product designer who studied typography a bit in college. I read Karen Cheng's Designing Type extensively. Consider me a humble noob.

I'm hoping to release this commercially, but it's okay if I don't make any money (it is my first commercial typeface after all). I made this by sketching, using Illustrator, and then composing the rest in Glyphs.

Some of the unusual things here are that I wanted to have things like the arms, tails, and legs have a semi-rounded, wabi-
sabi feel—it seems like it makes it more human and works well when displayed larger.

Questions: 
- Is there anything objectively wrong with this typeface?
- What can be improved?
- Is this a dumb idea and I need to throw in the towel?

Here's a specimen: https://www.dropbox.com/s/ut2l4ntfc4knzxg/Uptown Sans Specimen.pdf?dl=0
If helpful, here's the OTF: https://www.dropbox.com/s/2b1m9u91a5tvj32/UptownSans-Regular.otf?dl=0

Thanks!

Comments

• Ofir ShavitOfir Shavit Posts: 396
    Welcome!

To me, at this stage it seems to have too little fun and style so it falls to be seemed like a very amateur or a damaged typeface.
    It needs a deeper and wider characteristic work in order to form something that works.