I started work on a 19th century French Didot style font

Hello. I'm a newbie typography enthusiast and this is my first attempt at creating a font.

I'm creating it based roughly on scans from 19th century books printed by Didot. I've been eyeballing the printed font and using the pen tool in Illustrator before copy/pasting it into Glyphs app. I've also used Fontlab VI to tidy up some of the curves.

Here's my current progress: http://dn.ht/didhot/

I've only done uppercase so far and I'm generally pretty happy with the look—but I think I need some help from someone with a trained eye.

Any critique or advice would be greatly appreciated. Thank you! :)

Comments

• Your thin lines are all different weights. Some of your round outside shapes are relatively square-shouldered, but some are a lot rounded: compare C/G to D/O. Your P and R are strangely proportioned. The B is lacking the contrast you establish elsewhere. The S is too wide. The U is a bit off balanced – try to move the centre of the bottom to the left. The inner bottom right of the G is right inbetween a straight stem and a curvy one – I think you should choose one. The J is a very unresolved shape, and the terminal is perhaps too small. Let’s start there.
  • Thank you very much!

What do you mean about the R and P being strangely proportioned? Do you mean the joining point is too high? Or more about the width:height ratio of the glyph?

Also, I spent some time trying to get the serifs looking more consistent. Do you have any tips on improving those?
  • The P and R are very high-waisted, and I think need to be lowered a bit – I also think their bowls are too wide. Not much, but they feel bulky and like from a different family.

Which serifs are you asking about? C, G and S, or E, F, L, T and Z? I think either you need to bulk up C, G and S, or lighten E, F, L, T and Z.